Malay Epapers

Malay (Melayu) is the national language of Indonesia (as Indonesian), Malaysia (also known as Malaysian), and Brunei, and it is one of four official languages of Singapore. The total number of speakers of the language is more than 215 million. Malay is a member of the Austronesian family of languages, which includes languages from Southeast Asia and the Pacific Ocean, with a smaller number in continental Asia. Malagasy, a geographic outlier spoken in Madagascar in the Indian Ocean, is also a member of this language family. Malay is now written using the Latin script (Rumi), although an Arabic alphabet called Jawi also exists. Rumi is official in Malaysia, Singapore, and Indonesia. Rumi and Jawi are co-official in Brunei and Malaysia. Malay originally had four vowels. Malay does not make use of grammatical gender, and there are only a few words that use natural gender; the same word is used for he and she or for his and her. The Malay language has many words borrowed from Arabic Sanskrit, Tamil, Persian, Portuguese, Dutch, certain Chinese dialects and more recently, English.